Buying guide
Best luxury skincare essences and lotions, by bottle size
Picked from Amazon listings, not hands-on tests. How we pick
Top picks at a glance
Compare all picks
Closest match
SK-II Facial Treatment Essence, 7.7 oz (228 ml)
228 mlLarge 228 ml bottle, and the 5.4 oz and 11.2 oz sizes are also listed if you want to compare price per ml.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Lowest cost on paper
Estee Lauder Re-Nutriv Ultimate Lift Emulsion, 2.5 fl oz
74 mlLightest texture in the Ultimate Lift range, per the listing: a silky milky lotion.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most complete listing
SK-II SKINPOWER Essence, 1.7 oz (50 ml) with dropper
50 mlThe auto-dropper measures a set amount per use, according to the listing.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
An essence or essence-lotion is the watery step after cleansing and toning and before serum and cream. In luxury lines it often comes in a large bottle, so the size in ml matters as much as the price. SK-II Facial Treatment Essence is the reference point, and La Prairie and Estee Lauder make their own pre-serum lotions. This guide compares them on facts the listings state: bottle size (converted from oz to ml where needed, so the site can show price per ml), texture, the ingredients each brand names, and how the brand says to apply it. We also include two SK-II essence-serums for buyers who want a thicker, dropper format. When a listing leaves out the size or ingredients, we mark it Not stated. We do not repeat result claims, so compare on format, feel and how it fits your routine.
Compare the picks
SK-II Facial Treatment Essence, 7.7 oz (228 ml)228 ml- Size
- 228 ml
- Texture
- Lightweight, water-like
- Listed ingredients
- Over 90% PITERA (fermentation-derived)
- How to apply
- Twice daily after cleansing and toning, pressed in with palms
Estee Lauder Re-Nutriv Ultimate Lift Emulsion, 2.5 fl oz74 ml- Size
- 74 ml
- Texture
- Silky, lightweight milky lotion
- Listed ingredients
- Gentian extract, SIRTIVITY-LP technology
- How to apply
- Not stated
SK-II SKINPOWER Essence, 1.7 oz (50 ml) with dropper50 ml- Size
- 50 ml
- Texture
- Concentrated serum with auto-dropper
- Listed ingredients
- PITERA, niacinamide
- How to apply
- After cleanse, tone and treat; before moisturizer
SK-II GenOptics UltraAura Serum Essence, 1.7 oz50 ml- Size
- 50 ml
- Texture
- Not stated
- Listed ingredients
- PITERA (other ingredients not named)
- How to apply
- Dropper-full, massaged from center outward
La Prairie Skin Caviar Essence-in-Lotion, pre-serum step- Size
- Not stated
- Texture
- Not stated
- Listed ingredients
- Not stated
- How to apply
- Before serum (pre-serum treatment, per title)
La Prairie Platinum Rare Cellular Life-Lotion- Size
- Not stated
- Texture
- Essence-in-lotion
- Listed ingredients
- Antioxidants (not named)
- How to apply
- Not stated
| Pick | Size | Texture | Listed ingredients | How to apply | Price | Per ml | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
SK-II Facial Treatment Essence, 7.7 oz (228 ml)228 ml | 228 ml | Lightweight, water-like | Over 90% PITERA (fermentation-derived) | Twice daily after cleansing and toning, pressed in with palms | - | - | Amazon |
Estee Lauder Re-Nutriv Ultimate Lift Emulsion, 2.5 fl oz74 ml | 74 ml | Silky, lightweight milky lotion | Gentian extract, SIRTIVITY-LP technology | Not stated | - | - | Amazon |
SK-II SKINPOWER Essence, 1.7 oz (50 ml) with dropper50 ml | 50 ml | Concentrated serum with auto-dropper | PITERA, niacinamide | After cleanse, tone and treat; before moisturizer | - | - | Amazon |
SK-II GenOptics UltraAura Serum Essence, 1.7 oz50 ml | 50 ml | Not stated | PITERA (other ingredients not named) | Dropper-full, massaged from center outward | - | - | Amazon |
La Prairie Skin Caviar Essence-in-Lotion, pre-serum step | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Before serum (pre-serum treatment, per title) | - | - | Amazon |
La Prairie Platinum Rare Cellular Life-Lotion | Not stated | Essence-in-lotion | Antioxidants (not named) | Not stated | - | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date; price per ml is worked out from that price and the stated size.
The picks in detail

Pick 1 · SK-II
SK-II Facial Treatment Essence, 7.7 oz (228 ml)
228 mlSee price on AmazonThe classic SK-II essence in the 7.7 oz (228 ml) bottle. The listing describes a water-like texture with over 90% PITERA and gives a simple press-in method twice a day.
What the listing offers
- Large 228 ml bottle, and the 5.4 oz and 11.2 oz sizes are also listed if you want to compare price per ml.
- Clear method: shake 2 to 3 times into palms, press over face and neck for about a minute, twice daily.
- The listing says the formula is over 90% PITERA, SK-II's fermentation-derived ingredient.
Limits to know
- The listing does not give a full ingredient list or say whether it is fragrance-free.
- A water-like essence is an extra step; it does not replace a moisturizer.

Pick 2 · Estée Lauder
Estee Lauder Re-Nutriv Ultimate Lift Emulsion, 2.5 fl oz
74 mlSee price on AmazonA 2.5 fl oz (74 ml) milky lotion version of Ultimate Lift. The listing describes a silky, lightweight texture with Gentian extract and SIRTIVITY-LP technology. The lightest moisturizer in the line.
What the listing offers
- Lightest texture in the Ultimate Lift range, per the listing: a silky milky lotion.
- Largest size here at 74 ml, about $4.19 per ml at $310.
- Shares the key ingredients of the creams, so it can replace them on warm days.
Limits to know
- No directions for when or how to apply it on the listing.
- A lotion may not feel like enough on very dry skin without a cream on top.

Pick 3 · SK-II
SK-II SKINPOWER Essence, 1.7 oz (50 ml) with dropper
50 mlSee price on AmazonA thicker SK-II essence-serum in a 1.7 oz (50 ml) dropper bottle. The listing names PITERA and niacinamide and says to use it after essence and before moisturizer.
What the listing offers
- The auto-dropper measures a set amount per use, according to the listing.
- Named ingredients are PITERA and niacinamide.
- Clear place in the routine: after cleansing, toning and treating, before moisturizer.
Limits to know
- At 50 ml it is far smaller than the Facial Treatment Essence, so it is a serum step rather than a lotion.
- Fragrance and texture beyond concentrated are not stated.

Pick 4 · SK-II
SK-II GenOptics UltraAura Serum Essence, 1.7 oz
50 mlSee price on AmazonSK-II's brightening-focused serum essence in a 1.7 oz (50 ml) dropper bottle. The listing says it suits normal, dry, oily, combination and sensitive skin.
What the listing offers
- Listed as suitable for normal, dry, oily, combination and sensitive skin.
- The listing gives a clear method: a dropper-full in the palm, spread from the center of the face outward.
- Contains PITERA like the rest of the SK-II line, so it layers in a routine built around that ingredient.
Limits to know
- Apart from PITERA, the listing does not name its ingredients.
- Priced above the SKINPOWER Essence for the same 50 ml.

Pick 5 · La Prairie
La Prairie Skin Caviar Essence-in-Lotion, pre-serum step
See price on AmazonLa Prairie's Skin Caviar pre-serum lotion, the first step of the Skin Caviar routine. The title calls it a pre-serum treatment. The listing does not state the bottle size.
What the listing offers
- The title makes the role clear: a pre-serum treatment that goes on before Skin Caviar serums and creams.
- The listing notes an Allure Best of Beauty 2016 win for Top Splurge.
- The lower-priced of the two Essence-in-Lotion listings, a lower-cost way into the La Prairie line.
Limits to know
- The listing does not state the size, so price per ml cannot be worked out.
- No ingredients, texture or directions are given; check La Prairie's own page before buying.

Pick 6 · La Prairie
La Prairie Platinum Rare Cellular Life-Lotion
See price on AmazonLa Prairie's top-tier essence-lotion from the Platinum Rare line. The listing says it has a rich fusion of antioxidants. Size and directions are not stated.
What the listing offers
- Sits at the top of La Prairie's range, for buyers building a full Platinum Rare routine.
- The listing describes the skin feel after use as supreme comfort.
- Positioned as an essence-in-lotion, the same step as the SK-II essence.
Limits to know
- The listing does not state the bottle size, so price per ml cannot be worked out.
- The highest price in this guide, with no named ingredients or directions in the listing.
Read before you buy
- What is a skincare essenceA skincare essence is a watery step between toner and serum, rooted in Japanese routines. Here is how it feels, where it goes and how brands name it.
- Skincare routine order: which step goes firstThe common skincare routine order from cleanser to SPF, why thin textures go before thick ones, and when to follow a brand's own order for its line.
- SK-II Facial Treatment Essence vs Tatcha The EssenceSK-II Facial Treatment Essence vs Tatcha The Essence: fermented key ingredients as each brand lists them, bottle sizes, price per ml and how to apply.
- SK-II LXP Ultimate Perfecting Essence vs Facial Treatment EssenceSK-II LXP Ultimate Perfecting Essence vs Facial Treatment Essence: what the LXP tier changes by SK-II's description, bottle size and price per ml.
- SK-II Facial Treatment Essence vs Lancome Absolue Rose 80SK-II Facial Treatment Essence vs Lancôme Absolue Rose 80: two watery first steps compared by listed ingredients, bottle size, price per ml and use.
More guides: Serums and essences
Serum & Jar chooses every product independently from what its Amazon listing states. We may earn a commission from the links above. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.